Board Members

Richard Cottee

Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Cottee was appointed as the Non-Executive Chairman of the Company on 29 April 2019.

Mr Cottee was the Managing Director of coal seam gas (CSG) focused Queensland Gas Company (QGC) during its growth from a $20 million market capitalization junior explorer through to its acquisition by BG Group for $5.7 billion. QGC’s CSG assets are now operated by Shell and produce gas that is sold to China and other LNG markets. 
Originally a lawyer, Mr Cottee has spent the vast majority of his career in senior executive roles in the energy industry, including acting as CEO at CS Energy, NRG Europe, Central Petroleum and Nexus Energy.


A 32-year veteran of the industry, Mr Cottee is a strong business development professional and a graduate from The University of Queensland.

Neil Young

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Mr Young was appointed to the Board of Elixir on 14 December 2018 as its Chief Executive Officer.

Mr Young has more than twenty years experience in senior management positions in the upstream and downstream parts of the energy sector, focusing on business development, new ventures, gas marketing and general commercial functions.


He has worked for a range of companies in the UK and Australian including EY, Tarong Energy and Santos.  Mr Young founded Golden Horde Ltd in 2011 with a view to exploring for gas on the Chinese border in Mongolia.  He has also developed various new ventures in other countries including Kazakhstan, Japan and the USA.

Mr Young has a M.A. (Hons) joint degree in Economics/Politics from the University of Edinburgh.

Byambasaikhan Bayanjargal

Non-Executive Director

Mr. Byambasaikhan is a co-founder of NovaTerra, an investment advisory firm based in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.  He also chairs the Business Council of Mongolia (BCM), the country’s leading business association.  NovaTerra has successfully advised on corporate and infrastructure project transactions and financings since its establishment in 2013.  

Mr. Byambasaikhan was the Chief Executive of Mongolia’s sovereign investment company, Erdenes Mongol (EMGL), where he led the signing of a US$4.4B project finance deal with 20 international banks to finance the Rio Tinto operated Oyu Tolgoi underground mine construction, estimated to cost US$6B.  

He has managed and closed financing for high-profile energy transactions in Asia, including Mongolia’s first independent power project (IPP) and wind farm in 2012.  He was also the Chief Executive of Newcom, a Mongolian technology investor, and chaired the boards of its several telecom and energy joint-ventures with American, Japanese and European investors.  Prior to that he was an energy banker at the Asian Development Bank (ADB), developing and financing power generation, transmission and distribution projects in emerging Central Asian markets.
He is also currently a Trustee of the National University of Mongolia, Zorig Foundation USA, Arts Council of Mongolia, Mongolian Archery Federation and is an Honorary Consul of South Africa. 

Mr. Byambasaikhan is a graduate of the National University of Mongolia and the George Washington University.  In 2014, he was recognised as a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum.

Stephen Kelemen

Non-Executive Director

Mr Kelemen was appointed as the Non-Executive Director of the Company on 6 May 2019.

Stephen led Santos’ coal seam gas (CSG) team from its inception in 2004 and drove the growth in this area that allowed Santos to become one of Australia’s leading CSG companies. An engineering graduate from Adelaide University, Stephen served Santos for 38 years in multiple technical and leadership roles.


Stephen is currently an Adjunct Professor at University of Queensland’s Centre for Coal Seam Gas and also acts as a non-executive Director on the Boards of Galilee Energy Ltd (ASX: GLL) and Advent Energy Ltd.

Australian Office

Level 10, 50 Pirie Street, Adelaide, SA 5000, Australia.

Mongolian Office

Express Tower #501, Khoroo 1
Chingeltei District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Join Our Mailing List

  • Twitter